2019 Barry S. Timson Award

Rosemary Presnar

Ever since moving to Hallowell in 2006, Rosemary Presnar has been lending her contagious energy and vision to showcase Hallowell’s outdoor spaces, natural resources and parks. She started by sitting in on Vaughan Field Committee meetings, and later served on the Stevens School Advisory Committee, and the Planning Board. In 2014 was recruited for the Hallowell Conservation Commission, which she has chaired for the past three years. One of her tasks is to oversee the email newsletter and the Hallowell Conservation Committee FaceBook page-- both excellent ways for local residents can keep abreast of opportunities and progress such as the recently launched Pollinator Garden near the Last Crane Standing, on the Hallowell waterfront.  

"It's important to connect volunteers and city resources to figure out how to maintain and improve existing assets, like the Hallowell Recreation Area (completing a pilot project in partnership with the National Park Service’s Rivers, Trails and Conservation Assistance Program); and to apply best practices and learnings to Vaughan Field, Granite City Park, and the Berry Conservation Area," she says.

HCC members L to R: Karen Simpson, Rosemary Presnar, Cathie Murray, Jon Lund, Deb Sewall. Not pictured Peter Spiegel, Sarah Shed, Ben Godsoe. Earth Day 2018 dedication for the Effie L Berry Conservation Area at Stevens Commons Hallowell with City of Hallowell and Kennebec Land Trust.

This Timson Award is an especially fitting honor for Rosemary. Though she didn't have the chance to work with Barry Timson-- a renowned conservation advocate-- she would have loved to have had the opportunity.

Looking ahead, Rosemary is excited to be joining the City's 2020 Comprehensive Plan team and will be volunteering for Women’s Leadership Institute, an initiative launched by Olympia Snowe, to mentor young women at Cony High School.

This award has been established to celebrate and memorialize Barry Timson’s remarkable contributions to our city, to make his commitment a model for others and to encourage the spirit of volunteerism, civic commitment and leadership in the city of Hallowell.

Past Timson Awardees

  • 2018 Anthony Romano
  • 2017 Rose Warren
  • 2016 Kieran Kammerer
  • 2015 The Bessey Family
  • 2014 Erin Ballew
  • 2013 no awardee
  • 2012 Ava & Noah Katz
  • 2011 Johanna Baker
  • 2010 Kate Cart
This is some text inside of a div block.